Fjardarbyggd MunicipalityFjarðabyggð Municipality is combined of six former municipalities and is the most populus municipality in East Iceland. Fjarðabyggð Municipality works together with Fljótsdalshérða, the second largest municipality in East Iceland, on building up services in relation to shipping in the Arctic, such as the search for oil, tourism, supplies and air traffic to name a few.

Fjarðabyggð Municipality provides a variety of public services within administration, environment and transport, employment, education, welfare and family. Municipality is responsible for the administration, budget, management, consulting, tourism, cultural institutions and events, sports, and many other activities.

Key words: #services #administration #port #management #community #fjarðabyggð #culture

Fjarðabyggð Municipality consist of the following villages: Neskaupstaður, Reyðarfjörður, Eskifjörður, Fáskrúðsfjörður, Stöðvarfjörður, Mjóifjörður.

Main Arctic Projects

Main publications and reports


Fjarðabyggð Municipality in social media

Contact information


Pll Bjrgvin Gumundsson

Name: Páll Björgvin Guðmundsson
Job title: mayor
Telephone number: 470 9000
Email: fjardabyggd [AT] fjardabyggd [DOT] is
Fjarðabyggð Hafnargötu 2, 730
Open every day 09:00 – 16:00




Contact person

rur V Gumundsson
Name: Þórður Vilberg Guðmundsson
Job title: Public Relations Officer 
Email: thordur [DOT] v [DOT] gudmundsson [AT] fjardabyggd [DOT] is
Telephone number: 470 9093, 771 9213

Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal