[source for this article: the Arctic Council]

Arctic Council Diagram


What is the Arctic Council?

The Arctic Council is the leading intergovernmental forum promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, Arctic indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular on issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic

Who takes part?

The Ottawa Declaration lists the following countries as Members of the Arctic Council: Canada, the Kingdom of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, the Russian Federation, Sweden and the United States.

In addition, six organizations representing Arctic indigenous peoples have status as Permanent Participants. The category of Permanent Participant was created to provide for active participation and full consultation with the Arctic indigenous peoples within the Council. They include: the Aleut International Association, the Arctic Athabaskan Council, Gwich’in Council International, the Inuit Circumpolar Council, Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North and the Saami Council.

Observer status in the Arctic Council is open to non-Arctic states, along with inter-governmental, inter-parliamentary, global, regional and non-governmental organizations that the Council determines can contribute to its work. Arctic Council Observers primarily contribute through their engagement in the Council at the level of Working Groups.

The standing Arctic Council Secretariat formally became operational in 2013 in Tromsø, Norway. It was established to provide administrative capacity, institutional memory, enhanced communication and outreach and general support to the activities of the Arctic Council.

What does it do?

The work of the Council is primarily carried out in six Working Groups.

The Arctic Contaminants Action Program (ACAP)

 ACAP                                                                                                  The Arctic Contaminants Action Program acts as a strengthening and supporting mechanism to  encourage national actions to reduce emissions and other releases of pollutants. ACAP website


Current Chairmanship: Norway
Chair: Inger Johanne Wiese, Senior Adviser, Department for Marine Management and Pollution Control, Ministry of Climate and the Environment of Norway
Executive Secretary: Patti Bruns 


Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP)

 amap                                                                                                                                                                       The Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme monitors the Arctic environment, ecosystems and human populations, and provides scientific advice to support governments as they tackle pollution and adverse effects of climate change. AMAP website
  Current Chairmanship: Sweden
Chair: Anders Turesson
Executive Secretary: Rolf Rødven


The Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna Working Group (CAFF)

CAFF logo 200px                                                                                                                 The Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna Working Group addresses the conservation of Arctic biodiversity, working to ensure the sustainability of the Arctic’s living resources. CAFF website. 
  Current Chairmanship: United States
Chair: Cynthia Jacobson
Executive Secretary: Tom Barry


The Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response Working Group (EPPR)

 EPPR                                                                                                                             The Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response Working Group works to protect the Arctic environment from the threat or impact of an accidental release of pollutants or radionuclides. EPPR website
  Current Chairmanship: Kingdom of Denmark
Chair: Jens Peter Holst-Andersen
Executive Secretary: Patti Bruns


The Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment (PAME)

 PAME Logo 200px                                                                                                                             

 The Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment Working Group is the focal point of the Arctic Council’s activities related to the protection and sustainable use of the Arctic marine environment. PAME website

  Current Chairmanship: Canada
Vice Chair: Elizabeth McLanahan
Executive Secretary: Soffia Gudmundsdottir


The Sustainable Development Working Group (SDWG)

 SDWG Logo 200px                                                                                                                      The Sustainable Development Working Group works to advance sustainable development in the Arctic and to improve the conditions of Arctic communities as a whole.SDWG website 
  Current Chairmanship: Iceland
Chair: Stefán Skjaldarson
Executive Secretary: Jennifer Spence


The Council may also establish Task Forces or Expert Groups to carry out specific work. The Task Forces operating during the Chairmanship of Finland (2017-2019) were:

  • Task Force on Arctic Marine Cooperation (TFAMC)
  • Task Force on on Improved Connectivity in the Arctic (TFICA)
  • During the 2017-2019 Finnish Chairmanship there is also one Expert Group operating:
  • Expert Group in support of implementation of the Framework for Action on Black Carbon and Methane (EGBCM)

What are some of its accomplishments?

The Arctic Council regularly produces comprehensive, cutting-edge environmental, ecological and social assessments through its Working Groups. (Click to see some recent significant products from the Working Groups ACAP, AMAP, CAFF, EPPR, PAME, and SDWG.)

The Council has also provided a forum for the negotiation of three important legally binding agreements among the eight Arctic States. The first, the Agreement on Cooperation on Aeronautical and Maritime Search and Rescue in the Arctic, was signed in Nuuk, Greenland, at the 2011 Ministerial Meeting. The second, the Agreement on Cooperation on Marine Oil Pollution Preparedness and Response in the Arctic, was signed in Kiruna, Sweden, at the 2013 Ministerial meeting. The third, the Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation, was signed in Fairbanks, Alaska at the 2017 Ministerial meeting.


What doesn’t it do?

The Arctic Council is a forum; it has no programming budget. All projects or initiatives are sponsored by one or more Arctic States. Some projects also receive support from other entities. The Arctic Council does not and cannot implement or enforce its guidelines, assessments or recommendations. That responsibility belongs to each individual Arctic State.

The Arctic Council’s mandate, as articulated in the Ottawa Declaration, explicitly excludes military security.


For more information and the Arctic Council´s documents, visit the council´s official website






Designed & hosted by Arctic Portal